Department of Classical and Near Eastern Studies

Parent unit(s): College of Liberal Arts

Unit Contact Information

US mailing address: 216 Pillsbury Drive SE, 245 Nicholson Hall, Minneapolis MN 55455  Map

Campus mail address: 245 NichH, del code 3882

Phone number: (612) 625-5353

Fax number: (612) 624-4894

cnes@umn.edu

https://cla.umn.edu/cnes

Facebook

Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., 1:00 p.m.-4:30 p.m.

Employee Information

  • ChairNita Krevans, 245A Nicholson Hall, (612) 625-3422, nkrevans@umn.edu

    • Administrative Manager 1Barbara Lehnhoff, 245C Nicholson, (612) 625-3465, lehnhoff@umn.edu

      • Graduate Assistant/Student Services Professional 2Claire Anderson, 245 Nicholson Hall, (612) 624-7896, ande7921@umn.edu

      • Executive Office and Administrative SpecialistKatie Goodin, 235 Nicholson Hall, (612) 625-8371, kgoodin@umn.edu

      • Executive Office and Administrative SpecialistJillene McWhite, 245 Nicholson Hall, (612) 624-5732, jmcwhite@umn.edu

      • Executive Office and Administrative SpecialistJesika Peterson, 235 Nicholson Hall, (612) 301-1069, pete5755@umn.edu

  • Program in Religious Studies, 150C Nicholson Hall, (612) 625-6393, rels@umn.edu

    • DirectorJeanne Kilde, 150C Nicholson Hall, (612) 625-6393, jkilde@umn.edu

  • Center for Jewish Studies, 251 Nicholson Hall, (612) 624-4914, jwst@umn.edu

  • Graduate Studies

    • DirectorChristopher Nappa, 252 Nicholson Hall, (612) 624-6339, cnappa@umn.edu

  • Undergraduate Studies

    • DirectorSpencer Cole, 146F Nicholson Hall, (612) 625-5540, secole@umn.edu

Faculty and Instructors

Professors: Bernard Levinson, S Douglas Olson

Associate Professors: Stephen Ahearne-Kroll, Spencer Cole, Andrew Gallia, Nita Krevans, Christopher Nappa, Melissa Harl Sellew, George Sheets, Eva von Dassow

Assistant Professors: Patricia Ahearne-Kroll, Hanne Loeland Levinson

Directors of Language Instruction: Director of Hebrew Language Instruction—Renana Schneller, Director of Classical Language Instruction—Stephen Smith

Lecturers: James Laine

Emeriti Faculty: Elizabeth Belfiore, Thomas Clayton, John Evans, Oliver Nicholson, Jonathan Paradise, Calvin Roetzel

Send update requests to kgoodin@umn.edu.