Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

Parent unit(s): College of Liberal Arts

Unit Contact Information

US mailing address: 9 Pleasant Street SE, 220 Folwell Hall, Minneapolis MN 55455  Map

Campus mail address: 220 FolH, del code 0144

Phone number: (612) 625-6534

Fax number: (612) 624-5513

ames@umn.edu

https://cla.umn.edu/asian-middle-eastern-studies

Facebook

Twitter

Language Program Offices

Arabic—228A Folwell Hall, (612) 626-4620

Chinese—227 Folwell Hall, (612) 626-9746

Hmong—230A Folwell Hall, (612) 624-2304

Hindi and Urdu—220B Folwell Hall, (612) 624-4876

Japanese—231A Folwell Hall, (612) 626-9481

Korean—229B Folwell Hall, (612) 626-0378

Employee Information

  • ChairChristine Marran, 220 Folwell Hall, (612) 625-0122, marran@umn.edu

    • AdministratorMartha Mockus, (612) 624-4180, mockus@umn.edu

    • Executive Office and Administrative SpecialistAllison Klempka, (612) 625-6534, aklempka@umn.edu

  • Graduate Studies

  • DirectorBaryon Posadas, 228C Folwell, (612) 301-1336, bposadas@umn.edu

  • Undergraduate Studies

  • DirectorJoseph Farag, 220M Folwell, (612) 625-9424, amesdus@umn.edu

    • Academic AdvisorClaudia Hasegawa, 220A Folwell, (612) 624-1092, haseg002@umn.edu

  • Graduate Student Office, 428 Folwell Hall, (612) 625-9574

  • Directors of Language Instruction

    • Arabic Language Program

    • LecturerKatrien Vanpee, 220C Folwell, (612) 624-0580, kvanpee@umn.edu

    • Chinese Language Program

    • Senior LecturerLing Wang, 220K Folwell, (612) 624-2366, wangx333@umn.edu

    • Hmong Language Program

    • Senior Teaching SpecialistBee Vang-Moua, 230A Folwell, (612) 624-2304, bvang@umn.edu

    • Hindi and Urdu Language Program

    • Senior Teaching SpecialistMeraj Ahmed, 220B Folwell, (612) 624-4876, ahmedm@umn.edu

    • Japanese Language Program

    • Senior LecturerMichiko Buchanan, 220E Folwell, (612) 624-2818, buch0119@umn.edu

    • Korean Language Program

    • Senior LecturerHangtae Cho, 220J Folwell, (612) 625-6456, htcho@umn.edu

  • Chinese Flagship Program

    • DirectorNing Ma, 231E Folwell, (612) 625-2564, ningma@umn.edu

    • Associate DirectorYao Tu, 220D Folwell, (612) 624-1580, ytu@umn.edu

Faculty and Instructors

Professors: Maki Isaka, Christine Marran, Paul Rouzer

Professors Emeriti: Joseph Allen

Associate Professors: Ning Ma, Jason McGrath, Baryon Posadas, Travis Workman

Assistant Professors: Shir Alon, Joseph Farag, Nida Sajid, Suvadip Sinha

Send update requests to ames@umn.edu .