BioTechnology Institute

Parent unit(s): College of Biological Sciences, College of Science and Engineering

Unit Contact Information

US mailing address: 1479 Gortner Ave, 140 Gortner Laboratory, del code 6104A, St. Paul MN 55108 

Campus mail address: 140 GorL, del code 6104A

Phone number: (612) 624-6774

stpadmin@umn.edu

http://bti.umn.edu/

http://www.bti.umn.edu/

Employee Information

  • Director Michael Sadowsky, 240E Gortner Laboratory , (612) 624-2706, sadowsky@umn.edu

    • Assistant Director Thomas Douville, (612) 301-1612, douvi010@umn.edu

    • Administrative Director Kristi Lecy, (612) 624-3486, klecy@umn.edu

      • Finance Professional IILori Nicol, (612) 625-2781, l-nico@umn.edu

      • Finance Professional IIAmy Angel, (612) 301-1147, angel188@umn.edu

      • Accounting CoordinatorMichael Ouverson, (612) 624-3347, ouver005@umn.edu

      • Facilities and Events Coordinator Annie Yetter, (612) 625-8083, ayetter@umn.edu

      • Communications and Special Projects CoordinatorRuth Weleczki, (612) 624-1449, rweleczk@umn.edu

      • Principal Office and Administrative SpecialistTori Lafky, (612) 626-9853, lafky004@umn.edu

    • Director of Graduate Studies Microbial EngineeringBrett Barney, (612) 626-8751, bbarney@umn.edu

    • Director of CommunicationsMichael Winikoff, (612) 625-0830, michaelw@umn.edu

    • Microbial Engineering Graduate Program CoordinatorMichael Ouverson, (612) 624-3347, ouver005@umn.edu

  • Microbial and Plant Genomics Institute, Cargill Building, (612) 624-6198, mpgi@umn.edu

Faculty and Instructors

Distinguished McKnight University Professor: Wei-Shou Hu, Michael Sadowsky, Claudia Schmidt-Dannert, Michael Travisano, Larry Wackett

Professors: Alptekin Aksan, Daniel Bond, Antony Dean, Mark Distefano, Gary Dunny, Jeffrey Gralnick, Raymond Hozalski, George Karypis, Romas Kazlauskas, Alex Khoruts, Linda Kinkel, Tim Lapara, Gary Muehlbauer, Paige Novak, Jonathan Schilling, Janet Schottel, Friedrich Srienc, Brandy Toner, Ping Wang, Carrie Wilmot

Associate Professors: Brett Barney, Sebastian Behrens, Ben Hackel, Bo Hu, Satoshi Ishii, Arkady Khodursky, Dan Knights, Chad Myers, Christine Salomon, Cara Santelli, Casim Sarkar, Burckhard Seelig, Kechun Zhang

Assistant Professor: David Baumler, Jannell Bazurto, Steven Bowden, Kyle Costa, Mikael Elias, Katie Fixen, Michael Freeman, Trinity Hamilton, Will Harcombe, Thomas Niehaus, Mike Smanski, Christopher Staley

Adjunct Professors: Ken Valentas

Send update requests to bti@umn.edu.