Department of Asian Languages and Literatures

Parent unit(s): College of Liberal Arts

Unit Contact Information

US mailing address: 9 Pleasant Street SE, 220 Folwell Hall, Minneapolis MN 55455  Map

Campus mail address: 220 FolH, del code 0144

Phone number: (612) 625-6535

Fax number: (612) 624-5513

all@umn.edu

http://cla.umn.edu/asian-lang-lit

Facebook

Twitter

Language Program Offices

Arabic—228A Folwell Hall, (612) 626-4620

Chinese—227 Folwell Hall, (612) 625-0047

Hmong—230A Folwell Hall, (612) 624-2304

Hindi-Urdu—220B Folwell Hall, (612) 624-4876

Japanese—231A Folwell Hall, (612) 626-9481

Korean—229B Folwell Hall, (612) 626-0378

Employee Information

  • ChairChristine Marran, 220 Folwell Hall, (612) 625-0122, marran@umn.edu

    • AdministratorMargaret Tracy, (612) 624-4180, mjt@umn.edu

    • Executive Office and Administrative SpecialistMartha Mockus, (612) 301-1604, mock0002@umn.edu

    • Executive Office and Administrative SpecialistAllison Klempka, (612) 625-6534, aklempka@umn.edu

  • Graduate Studies

  • DirectorJason McGrath, 225 Folwell, (612) 624-2875, jmcgrath@umn.edu

  • Undergraduate Studies

  • DirectorMaki Isaka, 223 Folwell, (612) 625-1395, isaka@umn.edu

    • Academic AdvisorClaudia Hasegawa, 220A Folwell, (612) 624-1092, haseg002@umn.edu

  • Graduate Student Office, 428 Folwell Hall, (612) 625-9574

  • Directors of Language Instruction

    • Arabic Language Program

    • LecturerKatrien Vanpee, 220C Folwell, (612) 624-0580, kvanpee@umn.edu

    • Chinese Language Program

    • Senior LecturerLing Wang, 220K Folwell, (612) 624-2366, wangx333@umn.edu

    • Hmong Language Program

    • Senior Teaching Specialist, HmongBee Vang-Moua, 230A Folwell, (612) 624-2304, bvang@umn.edu

    • Hindi-Urdu Language Program

    • Assistant ProfessorSungok Hong, 231D Folwell, (612) 626-8082, shong@umn.edu

    • Japanese Language Program

    • Senior Lecturer, JapaneseMichiko Buchanan, 231E Folwell, (612) 624-2818, buch0119@umn.edu

    • Korean Language Program

    • Senior Lecturer, KoreanHangtae Cho, 220J Folwell, (612) 625-6456, htcho@umn.edu

  • Chinese Flagship Program

Faculty and Instructors

Professors: Maki Isaka, Paul Rouzer

Professors Emeriti: Joseph Allen, Yu-Shih Chen

Associate Professors: Christine Marran, Jason McGrath, Travis Workman

Assistant Professors: Joseph Farag, Baryon Posadas, Suvadip Sinha

Send update requests to all@umn.edu .